top of page
  • Writer's pictureinaldoronaldace

A Conundrum of Esoterica 002: So Emotional!

Updated: Jan 10, 2021


(I will change the picture once I have my film camera working already hehe)


What’s up guys! I know it’s been a while since I posted an update here. I hope you all had fun during the holidays the same way I did. And oh goodness, it’s been a year since I wrote a blog LOL (is it too late for that joke????). On a serious note, it’s been a bit hard for me to write something lately. In fact, there are a lot of unfinished blogs in my drafts that I was supposed to post during the holiday break. But for some unknown reason, I’ve remained feeling timid and regressive, like every ounce of inspiration in me is being sucked away. Hence, the production of half-finished blogs and the state of inactiveness on all my social media accounts. Anyway, although my erratic surge of indolence is a great topic I’m sure most of you will relate to, I’m afraid that that is not the focus of this blog (maybe in the near future). Instead, we are going to talk about men stereotypes and fragile toxic masculinity that needs to be buried down the hatchet. Disclaimer: In this blog, I will talk about the importance of becoming comfortable in opening up your emotions to your colleagues, friends and family. I won’t be much including the oppressive men patriarchy built in the society HITHERTO. Breaking men stereotypes, toxic masculinity and misogyny is a broad topic, and It will be a lengthy discussion for sure. That is why I’m planning to make a separate series of discussion about it in the near future and I hope it starts with this blog. The first semester of my first year in college is done! And I’m very proud to say that I’ve finished it with high academic grades despite the hardships in adapting to the new normal situation we’re currently in. It’s more the reason why holidays are happier to celebrate actually. Moving on, I’m mentally preparing myself for the second semester I haven’t yet decided to enroll. And ever since the announcement of enrollment was posted, one of my very first friends in college has been talking about it non-stop. One night, when we were having a frivolous and light conversation, I unintentionally let out a rant of my frustration in the role as the class president/representative. “HAHAHA may mga araw pa naman na ayoko talaga magreply kahit kanino pero napipilitan ako ganun” To my surprise, he apologized. And it was only then that I realized how distressing the statement I blurted sounds. He continued apologizing in behalf of the class, which confused me at first because he was not doing anything wrong to me. But then, every pressure and frustration during the first semester felt validated. I thanked him and explained how I often set aside my emotions to avoid being misunderstood by our classmates. The conversation went on for long that it showed a different side of vulnerability between us. I realized how a simple “boy talk” would make a difference. Not the kind of boy talk that includes sexism and misogyny – that’s the culture we should end now. I’m talking about openly engaging in a conversation of embracing your emotions without the fear of judgment from other men. To strongly resist against the stereotypical belief of toxic machismo that’s deeply ingrained in our culture. The act of calling out other men whenever you hear them say an oppressive remark, whether they may be your relative or not. I’d be lying if I’ll tell you that I was not toxic myself before. When I was young, I used to conform to these traditional toxic stereotypes of machismo and make fun of other men being effeminate. But as I widen my horizons and deepen my understanding, I started asserting my masculinity by taking full responsibility of my actions and refusing to follow the standardized gender roles in society. I began engaging in wide discussions of ending toxic masculinity and surrounded myself with friends that shares the same sentiments (Hello Tita Kingsmen and Mama’s boy group of friends, love you all hehehe). I started educating and encouraging other people to fight these traditional norms to foster a more accepting and responsible generation of men in the future. I honestly think that we are still far from the goal of totally abolishing these toxic men stereotypes. But if one person decides not to turn a blind eye and starts a conversation, I know we are progressing. And we will be there. #EndToxicMasculity #BreakingMenStereotypes

80 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

1 Comment


Wynna Zei Erquiza
Wynna Zei Erquiza
Jan 09, 2021

Toxic masculinity can be poisonous as it can hinder men to be comfortable at being vocal with their emotions; it can also be a cage that prevents them from pursuing interests “outside their gender.” Thank you for the enlightenment regarding this matter! #EndTheStigma

Like
bottom of page